Planned Closures

Worcester Cathedral is open 365 days of the year, 7.30am to 6.00pm, and is free to enter.  There will, however, be occasions when access will need to be restricted to some, or very occasionally all, of the Cathedral while services or events take place.  We are not always able to give advance notice of closures but where possible we will include details on this webpage. If you would like further advice on your visit, please contact our office on (+44) (0) 1905 732900 or info@worcestercathedral.org.uk

 

Every week:

Every day, Monday to Saturday, access to the east end of the cathedral and the crypt begins to be restricted shortly before 5pm as we prepare for our daily service of Choral Evensong (or Evening Prayer) at 5.30pm. Visitors in the nave are asked to be quiet while the service is in progress.

Every Sunday we hold our main Sung Eucharist at 10.30am; all are welcome to attend, but the cathedral does not open for sightseeing until 12 noon after the service has finished. The Cloisters remain open to visitors, and our Cloister Café begins serving at 10.00am. (At some points in the year – usually in March, August and December – our Sunday morning Eucharist takes place in the quire, and it is possible to visit the nave while it takes place.)

Every Sunday access to the east end of the cathedral and the crypt begins to be restricted shortly before 3.30pm as we prepare for the service of Choral Evensong at 4pm. These areas will reopen after 5pm when the service has finished. Visitors in the nave are asked to be quiet while the service is in progress.

 

September 2019
 

Sunday 8 September:
Cathedral closed to visitors 1.00pm to 3.30pm (Masonic service)
Chapter House closed to visitors all day (Masonic event)

Monday 9 September:
Chapter House closed to visitors 11.30am to 3.00pm (schools event)

Saturday 14 September:
Quire and East End of the cathedral, including Crypt and Lady Chapel, closed to visitors 3.00pm to 4.30pm (wedding blessing)

Sunday 15 September:
Cathedral closed for visiting from 3.00pm onwards (evensong)

Tuesday 17 September:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 10.00am to 11.00am (Tai Chi workshop)

Tuesday 24 September:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 10.00am to 11.00am (Tai Chi workshop)

Saturday 28 September:
Access to some parts of the cathedral may be restricted all day (Diocesan Kingdom Day event)

 

October 2019
 


Tuesday 1 October:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 10.00am to 11.00am (Tai Chi workshop)

Thursday 3 October:
Chapter House closed to visitors all day (school event and concert preparations)
Nave closed to visitors 9.30am to 11.00am (school event)

Saturday 5 October:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 1.00pm onwards, and the Lady Chapel closed to visitors from 2.00pm to 3.30pm (Friends of Worcester Catherdral AGM)

Sunday 6 October:
Chapter House closed to visitors all day (community event)

Monday 7 October:
Chapter House closed to visitors, and access to other parts of the Cathedral may be restricted, from 9.00am to 2.30pm (schools event)

Tuesday 8 October:
Chapter House closed to visitors 10.00am to 11.00am (Tai Chi workshop)

Thursday 10 October:
Access to the nave is restricted all day (event preparations)

Friday 11 October:
Access to the nave is restricted until 3.00pm (event de-rig and cleaning)

Saturday 12 October:
Nave closed to visitors from 1.00pm to 4.30pm (wedding)

Tuesday 15 October:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 10.00am to 11.00am (Tai Chi workshop)

Saturday 19 October:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 12.00pm onwards.
Nave closed to visitors from 12.30pm to 3.30pm (RLSS National Awards ceremony)

Sunday 20 October:
Cathedral closed to visitors from 3.15pm to 5.15pm (evensong)

Monday 21 October:
Cathedral closed to visitors from 1.00pm to 4.00pm (memorial service). Please note there will be no Turn Up For A Tour at 2.30pm

Tuesday 22 October:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 10.00am to 12.30pm (Tai Chi workshops)

Friday 25 October:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 12.30pm onwards (concert preparations)

Saturday 26 October:
Chapter House closed to visitors all day (bell-ringing event)
Access to parts of the cathedral may be restricted until 1.00pm (Big Bible Study)

 

 

Please note further closures may be scheduled between now and your visit. This list was last updated on Friday 6 September 2019.

Website Design by WBPT