Planned Closures

Worcester Cathedral is open 365 days of the year, 7.30am to 6.00pm, and is free to enter.  There will, however, be occasions when access will need to be restricted to some, or very occasionally all, of the Cathedral while services or events take place.  We are not always able to give advance notice of closures but where possible we will include details on this webpage. If you would like further advice on your visit, please contact our office on (+44) (0) 1905 732900 or info@worcestercathedral.org.uk

 

Every week:

Every day, Monday to Saturday, access to the east end of the cathedral and the crypt begins to be restricted shortly before 5pm as we prepare for our daily service of Choral Evensong (or Evening Prayer) at 5.30pm. Visitors in the nave are asked to be quiet while the service is in progress.

Every Sunday we hold our main Sung Eucharist at 10.30am; all are welcome to attend, but the cathedral does not open for sightseeing until 12 noon after the service has finished. The Cloisters remain open to visitors, and our Cloister Café begins serving at 10.00am. (At some points in the year – usually in March, August and December – our Sunday morning Eucharist takes place in the quire, and it is possible to visit the nave while it takes place.)

Every Sunday access to the east end of the cathedral and the crypt begins to be restricted shortly before 3.30pm as we prepare for the service of Choral Evensong at 4pm. These areas will reopen after 5pm when the service has finished. Visitors in the nave are asked to be quiet while the service is in progress.

 

 

November 2019
 

Saturday 2 November:
Chapter House closed to visitors 10.00am to 4.30pm (calligraphy workshop)

Monday 4 November to Friday 8 November:
The Nave and Chapter House are closed to visitors all week as part of the University of Worcester graduation ceremonies. Access to the East End is through the Friends' Door on the north side of the cathedral, and the cloisters, café and shop via College Green on the south side. There will be no Turn Up For A Tour on these days.

Monday 11 November:
Cathedral closed for general visiting 10.30am to 11.15am (school remembrance service).
All are welcome to attend this short service starting at 10.40am, or join the service outside at the County War Memorial at 10.55am.

Tuesday 12 November:
Chapter House is closed to visitors all day (schools events)

Wednesday 13 November:
Chapter House closed to visitors 10.00am to 12.00pm, and from 3.00pm onwards (school event)

Saturday 16 November:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 1.30pm onwards (concert preparations)

Tuesday 19 November:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 2.00pm onwards (concert preparations)

Friday 22 November:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 1.00pm onwards.
Nave closed for general visiting 2.00pm to 4.00pm (Lights of Love service). There will be no 2.30pm Turn Up for a Tour.

Saturday 23 November:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 1.00pm onwards (RSCM evensong).

Wednesday 27 November:
Chapter House and Café closed to visitors all day (Christmas Fayre preparations)

 

December 2019

 
Sunday 1 December:
Cathedral closed for general visiting from 5.30pm (Advent Procession). All are welcome to join us for this candlelit service, starting at 6.30pm.

Monday 2 December:
Chapter House closed to visitors until 3.00pm (Christmas Fayre de-rig)

Tuesday 3 December:
Cathedral closed to visitors 8.30am to 10.00am (school service)
Chapter House closed to visitors 10.00am to 2.00pm (school event)

Thursday 5 December:
Chapter House closed to visitors 9.00am to 12.30pm (carol service preparations)

Friday 6 December:
Chapter House closed to visitors 9.00am to 1.00pm (carol service preparations)
Chapter House closed to visitors from 3.30pm onwards (Christmas Tree Festival launch)

Saturday 7 December:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 12.30pm onwards (concert preparations)

Tuesday 10 December:
Chapter House closed to visitors 9.00am to 1.30pm (carol service preparations)
Nave closed to visitors 1.00pm to 4.00pm (Cherry Orchard school carol service)

Thursday 12 December:
Chapter House closed to visitors all day (Mayor's Charities Afternoon Tea)

Friday 13 December:
Cathedral closed to visitors 1.30pm to 3.15pm (school service)

Saturday 14 December:
Chapter House closed to visitors from 12.30pm (concert preparations)

Monday 16 - Tuesday 17 December:
Chapter House closed to visitors all day (private event)

Wednesday 18 December:
Nave closed to visitors 12.45pm to 3.00pm (Hollymount school carol service)

Thursday 19 December:
Chapter House closed to visitors 9.30am to 3.00pm (carol service preparations)
Nave closed to visitors 1.30pm to 3.00pm (Christopher Whitehead school carol service)

Friday 20 December:
Lady Chapel closed to visitors 12.00pm to 1.00pm (Old Palace Christmas service)

Saturday 21 December:
Nave closed to visitors all day. Access to the East End is through the Friends' Door on the north side of the cathedral, and the cloisters, café and shop via College Green on the south side. There is no Turn Up for a Tour at 11.00am or 2.30pm. (Christmas film performances)
For tickets, click here

Sunday 22 December:
Cathedral closed to visitors from 4.30pm onwards (Cathedral carol service). All welcome to attend; service starts at 6.30pm

Monday 23 December:
Cathedral closed to visitors from 4.30pm onwards (Cathedral carol service). All welcome to attend; service starts at 6.30pm. Evening Prayer is in the Crypt at 5.30pm

Tuesday 24 December:
Cathedral closed for general visiting from 12.00pm onwards (Christmas Eve services). All welcome to attend:
Crib Service 1.00pm and 3.00pm
Evening Carol service sung by former choristers 5.30pm
Midnight Mass 11.30pm (doors open at 10.15pm)

Wednesday 25 December:
Cathedral closed after evensong (5.00pm approximately)

 

Please note further closures may be scheduled between now and your visit. This list was last updated on Thursday 31 October 2019.

Website Design by WBPT