Planned Closures

Worcester Cathedral is open 365 days of the year, 7.30pm to 6.00pm, and is free to enter.  There will, however, be occasions when access will need to be restricted to some, or very occasionally all, of the Cathedral while services or events take place.  We are not always able to give advance notice of closures but where possible we will include details on this webpage. If you would like further advice on your visit, please contact our office on (+44) (0) 1905 732900 or info@worcestercathedral.org.uk

Every week:

Every day, Monday to Saturday, access to the east end of the cathedral and the crypt begins to be restricted shortly before 5pm as we prepare for our daily service of Choral Evensong (or Evening Prayer) at 5.30pm. Visitors in the nave are asked to be quiet while the service is in progress.

Every Sunday we hold our main Sung Eucharist at 10.30am; all are welcome to attend, but the cathedral does not open for sightseeing until 12 noon after the service has finished. The Cloisters remain open to visitors, and our Cloister Café begins serving at 11.30am. (At some points in the year – usually in March, August and December – our Sunday morning Eucharist takes place in the quire, and it is possible to visit the nave while it takes place.)

Every Sunday access to the east end of the cathedral and the crypt begins to be restricted shortly before 3.30pm as we prepare for the service of Choral Evensong at 4pm. These areas will reopen after 5pm when the service has finished. Visitors in the nave are asked to be quiet while the service is in progress.

2017 dates:

Friday 12 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors all day (setup for Voices and Visions)

Tuesday 16 May:
Chapter House and South Cloister closed to visitors from 2.00pm onwards (private function)

Wednesday 17 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors until 2.00pm (Friends of Worcester Cathedral function)

Thursday 18 May:
Crypt closed to visitors 2.30pm - 3.00pm (service for visiting church group)

Friday 19 May:
Nave closed to visitors 2.00pm - 3.30.pm (funeral service) Please note that as a result of the Funeral there will be no 2.30 turn up for a tour 

Saturday 20 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors 9.00am - 3.00pm
Limited access to Nave while a Pet Blessing service takes place approx 2.00pm - 3.00pm

Monday 22 May:
Nave closed to visitors 12.00noon - 2.00pm (memorial service)
Chapter House closed to visitors 12.00noon - 3.00pm (service refreshments)

Friday 26 May:
Limited access to the Quire 4.00pm onwards (concert rehearsals)

Saturday 27 May:
East End (incl. Quire, Lady Chapel and Crypt) closed to visitors 11.00am - 1.30pm (wedding)

Wednesday 31 May:
East End (incl. Quire, Lady Chapel and Crypt) closed to visitors 2.00pm - 3.30pm (service for visiting church group)

Sunday 4 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors 12.30pm - 5.30pm (Elgar Society AGM)

Tuesday 6 June:
Lady Chapel, Chapter House, and parts of the Nave and Quire will be closed to visitors 9.00am - 3.00pm (schools event)

Friday 9 June:
Lady Chapel, Chapter House, and parts of the Nave and Quire will be closed to visitors 9.00am - 3.00pm (schools event)

Sunday 11 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors 4.00pm - 6.00pm (service refreshments)

Tuesday 13 June:
Nave closed to visitors 1.00pm - 3.30pm (Royal Grammar School, Worcester, Commemoration Service)

Wednesday 14 June:
Quire closed to visitors 9.00am - 9.45am (school service)

Thursday 15 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors 10.00am - 4.00pm (library event)
Part of the Quire closed to visitors 1.30pm - 3.00pm (talk around King John's tomb)

Friday 16 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors 9.30am - 10.15am (private tour refreshments)

Saturday 17 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors 3.30pm onwards (3 Choirs Festival)

Sunday 18 June:
Cathedral closed to visitors 3.00pm - 5.30pm (Civic Service)

Wednesday 21 June:
Cathedral closed to visitors 1.30pm - 3.30pm (memorial service)
Chapter House closed to visitors 1.30pm - 4.30pm (service refreshments)

Saturday 24 June:
Cathedral closed to visitors 1.00pm - 5.00pm (Ordination of Priests)

Monday 26 June:
Parts of the Nave closed to visitors all day (tiered seating installation)

Tuesday 27 June:
Parts of the Nave closed to visitors all day (tiered seating installation)

Wednesday 28 June:
Nave closed to visitors 1.00pm - 4.00pm (Stourport Schools Pyramid Awards Ceremony)

Thursday 29 June:
Nave closed to visitors all day (Voices and Visions performance setup and rehearsals)
Chapter House closed to visitors from 12.00noon (Voices and Visions performance rehearsals)

Friday 30 June:
Nave and Chapter House closed to visitors from 12.00 noon (Voices and Visions performance rehearsals)

Please note further closures may be scheduled between now and your visit. This list was last updated on Friday 19 May 2017.

Website Design by WBPT