Planned Closures

Worcester Cathedral is open 365 days of the year, 7.30am to 6.00pm, and is free to enter.  There will, however, be occasions when access will need to be restricted to some, or very occasionally all, of the Cathedral while services or events take place.  We are not always able to give advance notice of closures but where possible we will include details on this webpage. If you would like further advice on your visit, please contact our office on (+44) (0) 1905 732900 or info@worcestercathedral.org.uk

 

Every week:

Every day, Monday to Saturday, access to the east end of the cathedral and the crypt begins to be restricted shortly before 5pm as we prepare for our daily service of Choral Evensong (or Evening Prayer) at 5.30pm. Visitors in the nave are asked to be quiet while the service is in progress.

Every Sunday we hold our main Sung Eucharist at 10.30am; all are welcome to attend, but the cathedral does not open for sightseeing until 12 noon after the service has finished. The Cloisters remain open to visitors, and our Cloister Café begins serving at 10.00am. (At some points in the year – usually in March, August and December – our Sunday morning Eucharist takes place in the quire, and it is possible to visit the nave while it takes place.)

Every Sunday access to the east end of the cathedral and the crypt begins to be restricted shortly before 3.30pm as we prepare for the service of Choral Evensong at 4pm. These areas will reopen after 5pm when the service has finished. Visitors in the nave are asked to be quiet while the service is in progress.

 

May 2018

Monday 14 May:
Lady Chapel closed to visitors 10.30am - 12.00pm (retired clergy service)

Monday 14 May - Thursday 17 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors (event setup)

Sunday 20 May:
Cathedral closed to visitors 1.00pm - 3.30pm (RAF100 service)

Wednesday 23 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors 9.00am - 2.00pm (clergy training day)

Friday 25 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors, and access to other parts of the cathedral may be restricted, from 9.30am - 3.00pm (schools event)
Chapter House closed to visitors from 3.00pm onwards (book launch)

Wednesday 30 May:
Chapter House closed to visitors, and access to the West Gardens and Nave may be restricted, all day (3 Counties Show launch event)

 

June 2018


Saturday 2 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors 11.30am onwards (concert preparations)

Sunday 3 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors 1.00pm - 4.00pm (Elgar Society AGM)

Monday 4 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors, and access to other parts of the cathedral may be restricted, from 9.30am - 3.00pm (schools event)

Tuesday 5 June:
Access to part of the nave will be restricted all day (tiered seating setup)

Wednesday 6 June:
Access to part of the nave will be restricted all day (tiered seating setup)

Friday 8 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors, and access to other parts of the cathedral may be restricted, from 9.30am - 3.00pm (schools event)
Lady Chapel closed to visitors 12.00pm - 1.30pm (service)

Sunday 10 June:
Cathedral closed to visitors 3.30pm - 5.00pm (Evensong)

Tuesday 12 June:
Nave closed to visitors 9.00am - 5.00pm (schools event)

Wednesday 13 and Thursday 14 June:
Nave closed to visitors all day (Voices and Visions performance and performance preparation)

Friday 15 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors 9.00am - 3.30pm (schools event)

Monday 18 - Thursday 21 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors all day (Voices and Visions de-rig

Monday 18 June:
Access to part of the nave will be restricted all day (tiered seating de-rig)

Tuesday 19 June:
Access to part of the nave will be restricted all day (tiered seating de-rig)

Wednesday 20 June:
Lady Chapel closed to visitors 10.30am - 12.00pm (service)

Thursday 21 June:
Nave closed to visitors 2.00pm - 4.30pm (RGS school service)

Friday 22 June:
Nave closed to visitors 1.00pm - 3.30pm (Oldswinford school service)

Sunday 24 June:
Cathedral closed to visitors 3.30pm - 5.00pm (Civic service)

Monday 25 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors, and access to other parts of the cathedral may be restricted, from 9.30am - 2.00pm (schools event)

Tuesday 26 June:
Chapter House closed to visitors, and access to other parts of the cathedral may be restricted, from 9.30am - 3.00pm (schools event)
Chapter House closed to visitors 2.00pm - 4.30pm (book launch)

Saturday 30 June:
Cathedral closed to visitors 1.00pm - 4.00pm (Ordination service)

  

Please note further closures may be scheduled between now and your visit. This list was last updated on Saturday 12 May 2018.

Website Design by WBPT